Our travels, exploits, and adventures

Asheville, NC

July 18, 2011

We woke up at our hotel in Asheville, North Carolina this morning and headed to the Biltmore Estate for the day.

Biltmore on its impressive grounds- all 8,000 acres of them

We started out by taking the audio tour of the 250 room Biltmore Chateau; the mountain home of George and Edith Vanderbilt

The 'Walled Garden' at Biltmore- it was so beautiful and well manicured, it definitely made me feel like we were in Europe

Lunch at the ‘Stable Cafe’ which was literally the old stables with the stalls still intact- they even had an extensive gluten free menu so we were even more impressed

Walking to the bass pond at Biltmore

Next, we took a tour of Biltmore Winery in Antler Hill Village- after the tasting we were assured that is the "most visited winery in the country" because its attached to Biltmore and not because of their wine

And then I (Erin) decided to try on a few hats- this one was my favorite

We walked through Biltmore's kitchen garden and snacked on raspberries and blackberries right off the bushes- YUM!

After a full day at Biltmore we went to downtown Asheville and ate at a lovely little farm-to-table restaurant called Chai Pani whose slogan was “namaste y’all”- love it.  We both really liked Asheville and highly recommend going to Biltmore if you’re anywhere near Asheville, Tennessee in the future.

4 responses

  1. Meg

    inquiring minds want to know…did you buy said hat?

    July 20, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    • HAHA! I wish- I couldn’t think of anywhere I would wear that hat to other than maybe horse races or a fancy Summer party. Neither of which we have plans to attend. . . =)

      July 21, 2011 at 9:56 am

  2. Margitt Royce

    Erin I love the blog, and am so honored I can share this new adventure with you! so happy for you both!!!
    You gave me the courage to blog my trip, I leave tomorrow for new Mexico a journey just me and the kids!!! It took me a fre hours to get started but I am empowered! Sending you love, as you have touch my heart in so many ways!! Love,M

    July 22, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    • Thanks Margitt! We’re having a blast and so happy to share it with you. Have a great trip to New Mexico- that sounds amazing! =)

      July 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Leave a Reply

